(Insert Creative and Charming Title Here)

Hi Everyone!

I’ll try to keep this short and sweet. My name is Emily Pearce. I’m originally from Victoria B.C. but I moved to Abu Dhabi, U.A.E. when I was twelve. I lived overseas for six years so the classic question of “Where are you from?” is often a difficult one to answer! I moved to Ottawa in 2008 and have been in the communications program ever since.

I really enjoy communications studies although it has been frustrating lately. The huge emphasis on the theoretical and very little on the development of actual skills for the workplace is getting a little ridiculous. The fact that there aren’t many creative writing classes open to those outside the English department adds to the situation. As a result, I was pleasantly surprised (i.e., super psyched) when I found this course on the Carleton website, even though it’s on a Friday.

I have dabbled in the industry throughout my undergrad, in both the marketing and communications aspects of the field. I recently spent the summer working for the City of Ottawa as a Communications and Marketing Assistant for the city-owned heritage museums. My job really was to spend all day writing news releases and articles to promote events at the sites. It was a great experience that has encouraged me to embrace my interest in the written word.

Like a lot of people, I’m a bit of a “ranter”. Much easier to write that way. I’m also just waiting for the new season of Dance Moms (oh yeah…) to buffer so instead of going off on another tangent about school, life, or graduating I’ll just stop writing right…

 

Now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

