Sabreena’s Introduction

Hey everyone,

My name is Sabreena Chandra; I am a 4th year student majoring in Communication Studies, with a minor in English and I am unbelievably excited about this class.  Since 1st year I have been waiting for a writing class (not that I knew this would be one) and here it is!  I was completely flabbergasted by the obvious lack of writing courses; I went so far as too attend a Creative Writing course with our rival school, Ottawa University, 2 summers ago (yes I know, shame on me).  Of course I will be learning how to write as I make my way out of Carleton University, but better late than never I suppose.

I had the amazing opportunity to work for a non-profit arts magazine in Montreal last summer, La Scena Musicale.  My original position was nowhere near writing; I was in charge of collecting information for a few arts directories published separately throughout the summer (phone calls, emails, data entry).  Luckily for me, the ‘Dance’ writer for the magazine was not reliable, which left the Editor looking for a new writer.  Conveniently enough, I was already employed with La Scena Musicale, I loved dance and I wanted to write.  At the end of the summer I had 4-5 articles published.  The experience was great but slightly uncomfortable.  As I have read in a few of the blog postings, having your work read and critiqued by others is a bit nerve-racking. I’m hoping this class will help me become more comfortable with the process, and nonetheless improve my writing.

Dream job?  I would love to be a stylist for a fashion magazine.  To write articles for such magazines would be fun.  I am someone who does not like monotonous work; and since fashion is always changing, what I would write about will always be different.  I would possibly also want to start my own social entrepreneurial organization eventually (a project I started thinking about and working on in a communications course I took last term).  No matter what I decide to do, I think this class would benefit me immensely.  I cannot wait to start and get to know everyone!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

