Better late than never, but never late is better.

Finally I have been added to this god forsaken blog!!

Hi everyone, my name is Lydia Cardinal and I am a ‘fifth’ year student here at Carleton University studying Communications with a minor in Canadian Studies. Why a minor in Canadian Studies, you may ask. Well, in first year I took a First Year Seminar class and really liked the content and realized that you only really need four or five Canadian Studies classes for it to be considered a minor, so here I am with a minor under my belt. Woohoo!

Like many of you, this will be my last semester here at Carleton. I don’t know if any of you are in the same boat but that fact really scares the crap out of me. For the last five years I have been living a pretty comfy student life and I am really nervous to have to venture out into the ‘real’ world and get a ‘real’ job. Currently I do have two jobs. I have worked for Bell as a sales representative in the St Laurent location for the last four years (come and see me if you need a new phone!) and I work at a bar called Hooley’s on Elgin Street as a server/bartender and just started in September (come and check out our new menu!). How do I accomplish all of this with a full course load and a ton of extra-curricular activities? I am what you might call a crazy person.

Ever since I started here at Carleton I have always been someone who needs to remain extremely busy. Ever since I can remember I have had a job. Although thinking back on it now, this is definitely one of the main reasons it has taken me five years to complete my degree here at Carleton. Nevertheless, if I had to go back and change the decisions I made in my last five years at Carleton, having a job and paying for my education would definitely not be one of them. I believe that even though it has extended the length of my studies, here at Carleton, that I have been able to learn a very valuable lesson of how to balance a very hectic schedule which will definitely be an asset for me in my future career and life.

Now getting back on track, why did I decide to take this course? Well originally I had not wanted to take this course at all. It was one of the last courses available to me after I changed around my schedule last semester. I had originally wanted to take a course in Nation and Nationalism but I thought I would give this one a try since it was not a 6-9 like all of the other COMM classes this semester appear to be. Like a few of you have mentioned, I also did not know that this would be a writing class until I spoke with a fellow classmate who informed me of the topic. To say that I was thrilled about it, I will not lie. To say that I was a little curious and intrigued of the assignments we would be subjected to, I was.

Writing has always been something I have excelled in. Ever since I can remember I have always been very good at putting my thoughts to paper. Like many of you, I have written many assignments for classes because I had to but have not really had the chance to write something I wanted to. When I was younger I used to write short stories in my spare time which embarrassingly enough my mother still keeps in a box with the rest of the weird arts and crafts I used to make for her. I’m sure eventually these odd crafts will resurface, probably in an attempt to embarrass me in front of any unfortunate guests I bring with me to her home. I am hoping that this class will help me to improve my writing skills so that I will have something a little less embarrassing to add to my mother’s collection.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

